“Drynuary”: Forget your clever coping strategies

Day 9: I don’t want to hear about strategies, tactics or coping mechanisms.

longing-egon-schieleIt’s been one of those whirlwind few days. Starting with pre-dawn conference calls – always wish I hadn’t accommodated those when the alarm goes off – that then put you on a treadmill that will not stop until late in the evening. I get going at such a pace sometimes, I really need to put the brakes on before I can get to sleep at night.

That’s where a glass of wine is the perfect anti-dote to such a frenetic day. Everything slows down. Obsessions over unchecked tasks melt away. Who cares? Worries about the next wave coming tomorrow get fuzzy. The world is a better, friendlier place.

I’m not caving in, I’m not trying to negotiate a new deal, but I’m also not interested in any clever coping strategies right now. I just want to sit with my longings ….

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in challenges, change, Change Management, Diet, discipline, Happiness, Health & Fitness, Life Coaching, new years resolutions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Drynuary”: Forget your clever coping strategies

  1. Margaret McDonnell-Snyder says:

    Hi Lynn. Day 3 and planning my first Friday dry. Off to work and then a movie. Coping, coping. Have to learn to just sit with the new way of coping with no booze. Day 9!! So cool.

  2. lynnmorstead says:

    Good luck on your first Friday. You’ll do great with that plan. Thanks for your messages, they are inspiring me too. L

Leave a comment