“Drynuary”: Post happy hour race car driving

Day 10 – Navigating the post happy hour racetrack.

fast-driving-on-freewayIt would seem that stone-cold sober driving on our freeways is not for the weak of heart  — especially as happy hour winds down on Thursday evenings. Returning from an early dinner out (made easy with t-totalers), traversing the city on four, five, and even six-lane highways in some places, I see maneuvers normally reserved for cop movie chase scenes. Traffic is flowing again after the twice-daily near grid-lock madness.

It’s Thursday evening, the new Friday for many. Those who stopped off for happy hour are now on their way home with a fabulous buzz after a couple of drinks on an empty stomach. The weekend is in sight, there’s space to zip along unhindered. Driving bravado is on the rise, the Formula One wanna-be’s are unleashed on the roads.

Woosh … Yikes! … Did that really happen? … I have to push it to 70mph+ just to keep up. I’m white-knuckling it trying to anticipate the next crazy move. Not sure which is worse: the daytime slow texters, or the after-dark speedy Mario Andretti’s?

Thank goodness I have my wits about me, but this all feels much more scary in my new completely stone-cold sober state. Is tonight different? Am I different? After a normal happy hour I rarely see anything like this. I wonder. The question now lingering in my mind, is, even staying within legal limits, what would this drive have looked like to me after a typical happy hour?

More observations from the other side of alcohol.

Bracing myself for another Friday and Saturday!

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in change, Change Management, Diet, discipline, driving, Life Coaching, new years resolutions, safety and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment