“Drynuary”: Why?

Day 1: Upon announcing project ‘Drynuary’, I was aksed “why”.

Wait … What do you mean “why”? Didn’t expect that. This question comes up almost as frequently as the “yeah-me-too’s”. The lanes separating the two traffic flows isn’t even the slow vs. the fast, or the young immortals vs. those of us now starting to pay for the sins of our youth.

So here’s my Answer:

younger-next-year-aging-curve-goalDancing back and forth between ‘carpe diem’ and ‘paying it forward’ I let it all rip during the holidays and then reign it back in after the new year. This hopefully restores some semblance of balance and reinstates habits that increase my odds of powering through til the end. I’m striving for that aging curve, where you fall off a cliff in a few days, rather than a long, protracted decline along the slippery slope that takes years. younger-next-year-aging-curve-typicalIf you’ve read “Younger Next Year”, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

Indeed, I might be the old lady at 90 writing about wishing she had eaten more cake, skipped the gym more, slept in late and abstained from puritanical routines such as ‘drynuary’. Who knows. It’s my insurance policy – I can’t not do it.

Wish me luck!

 

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in Aging, Diet, discipline, Health & Fitness, Life Coaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Drynuary”: Why?

  1. Emily says:

    “Dancing back and forth between ‘carpe diem’ and ‘paying it forward’…” I love it. What a perfect way to describe life in holiday mode!

Leave a Reply

