Day 9 – Everyone on task, ooops, except me!

Stay on TaskFor the past 420 days I have found a small window in my day to meditate. Usually early morning before the house comes alive. On days with early commitments, it can be as short as 10 minutes. On less hectic days I luxuriate in longer 30 minute sessions. It energizes my day, clears the fuzziness, centers me. I don’t venture out into life’s busy freeways, until I’ve fueled up in meditation. It’s hardwired into my routines like brushing teeth. You just do it. You don’t even think about it.

Then yesterday I completely forgot … completely.

Little footsteps came bounding down the stairs earlier than expected — something about a clock running too fast. Bam. The day was off and running. I don’t know what happened. Cereal bowls, school bags, remember your medicine, confirm afterschool plans, drop off at school, yoga studio, run to  grocery store, chase down pesky details for sports medical history forms (that no one even reads in the end!) , general house pickup, dishes, supper prep, phone calls about kid weekend plans, check email, school pick up, snacks, sewing project, cooking supper, Friday night teenager logistics (OMG!), movie and popcorn with the little ones — fall asleep on the couch.

I never even thought about it until the next day. Just nine days into this new world and I’m slipping out of fixed routines, sliding off task. Is that because I’m just not practiced, or is it the nature of this world?

The engrained discipline of several decades in a corporate world wasn’t enough to keep me on task. Maybe it’s reporting to five bosses, instead of one or two, that does it? Maybe it’s ever-shifting sports schedules, an unexpected fever, or the eruption of spontaneous running-around-the-house play, rather than a predictable, steady stream of meetings, deadlines and deliverables, that scramble my brain?

Maybe it’s that the task is not about me, but all about them, so I’m actually right on task, where I’m called to be right now!

[note to Dick Schmitt: you predicted I wouldn’t manage any posts after the 1st one, and you would have been right, if Kip hadn’t joined me. I couldn’t have done this without him!]

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in babysitting, challenges, family life, Meditation, on task, Parenting, peronsal effectiveness, teenagers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 9 – Everyone on task, ooops, except me!

  1. Becky Turner says:

    Great post about being right on task!!

    From: “All those days that came and went …” Reply-To: “All those days that came and went …” Date: Saturday, November 22, 2014 at 2:39 PM To: Becky Turner Subject: [New post] Day 9 ­ Everyone on task, ooops, except me!

    WordPress.com lynnmorstead posted: “For the past 420 days I have found a small window in my day to meditate. Usually early morning before the house comes alive. On days with early commitments, it can be as short as 10 minutes. On less hectic days I luxuriate in longer 30 minute sessions. It”

Leave a Reply

