Day 4 – “I was hoping Mildred would show up someday”

Moms Cookbook CoverMamie called to check in with us. She bypassed hello and went straight to “I was hoping Mildred would show up someday”. The spirit-filled grandmother of the 5 angels in my care spoke a truth, that made my heart skip a beat. My mother, Mildred, abruptly departed our lives at the young age of 58 — long before these grandchildren were even a twinkling in their parent’s eyes. She would have jumped at the chance to spend a week with them, while their parents went out of town.

Mamie and Mildred never met, but Mamie knows they are kindred spirits. Mildred is part of her prayer life. They are connected. Regardless of your spiritual beliefs, it’s evident to all that Mamie has intuited more about Mildred than we’ve ever told her.

So, when she told me “I was hoping Mildred would show up”, I had to fight back the tears. She’s right. We’re telling old family stories, learning how to make recipes from Mildred’s cookbook, playing the games she loved, doing puzzles and still planning that sewing project.

Mildred has indeed shown up, just not in the way we would have planned it. What a blessing. We’re all thankful.

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in babysitting, children, Family, Life Stories, Parenting, Spiritual, thankful, thankfulness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 4 – “I was hoping Mildred would show up someday”

  1. Becky Turner says:

    Good word! As an aunt who adores her nephews, I am enjoying doing this week long journey with you.

    From: “All those days that came and went …” Reply-To: “All those days that came and went …” Date: Monday, November 17, 2014 at 11:59 AM To: Becky Turner Subject: [New post] Day 4 ­ ³I was hoping Mildred would show up someday²

    WordPress.com lynnmorstead posted: “Mamie called to check in with us. She bypassed hello and went straight to “I was hoping Mildred would show up someday”. The spirit-filled grandmother of the 5 angels in my care spoke a truth, that made my heart skip a beat. My mother, Mildred, abruptly de”

  2. Rhonda says:

    Quite the compliment! Glad you are having fun!

  3. Connie Crist says:

    Such wonderful sharing! You can’t replace these times! Where are u?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. Cathy Hawley says:

    Lovely story and memory aand I DO believe she is there! Enjoying your stories of your visit- what a special time for the young and the old(er)!

  5. Love that you are allowing us to follow along, so enjoying the reads…Katie’s Aunt Susan:) Give my love to the girls and Mamie.

Leave a Reply

