No Photography Permitted – what a relief!

20140510-184728.jpg

I have this idea that I’m going to be able to somehow bottle up my vacation, the sounds, the smells, the sights, the whole experience in the oodles of pictures I take on trips. I snap, focus, position, frame, change settings, annoy everyone in the group. The thinking is, if I get the right pictures then I’ll be able to revisit the trip over and over and over again for years to come. 

Truthfully however, this is real pressure. I find myself thinking more about the picture possibilities than the sights themselves. And don’t even go into what happens, when the camera breaks, or the lense drops off, as it did on the beach in Costa Rica years ago. This is nothing short of a crisis.

So today, when we walked into the San Marco museum in Florence and were greeted by the posting “No photography or video”, and this included anything — gardens, pictures, architecture, the whole shabang, I was relieved!

It was so refreshing to soak in the paintings, deeply absorbing the atmosphere, quietly chatting and reflecting with our group. Ahhh … lovely. Then, as soon as we walked out, it was back to the camera snapping. 

I just can’t help myself. I love the pictures!!!

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in Culture, Happiness, Holidays, Media, psychology, Technology, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No Photography Permitted – what a relief!

  1. carolsbirds says:

    I know exactly how you feel! when I ‘bird’, I want to capture that image of the amazing bird before me. But one of my best bird guides told me: ‘Carol, just look at the bird’. That’s when I gave myself permission to enjoy the scene before me without the pressure of getting the ‘shot’. I do still try to get the ‘shot’ once I’ve soaked in the bird. But it’s the experiences you’ll remember from your trips, not the photographs. Bon Voyage!

  2. Rhonda Sweeney says:

    Me too, thanks for posting. Interestingly here in Morocco, taking a picture of someone is for tome to take some of their spirit with you. I think this is why we like photos, we can bring the spirit of the trip home with us to revisit again and again. An interesting time yesterday as it was Friday and we were in Rabat at the time of noon prayers for the faithful. Standing outside the main mosque, hundreds of men stood, of course all facing East to Mecca. I had never seen this before in person. Then in car on the way to Casablanca, our guide silently did his prayers, having washed back at the Kasbah in Rabat, and then did a second “dry washing” using a stone in the car. He told us afterwards he used the shorter version, and though we were not travelling East, he was able to accomplish his prayers for the day. I will always have that image with me.

Leave a Reply

