Why do I despair and then thank the potholes in my life?

challenge-1“Every difficulty in life presents us with an opportunity to turn inward and to invoke our own submerged inner resources. The trials we endure can and should introduce us to our strengths.” Epictetus, The Art of Living (A New Interpretation by Sharon Lebell)

This quote from Epictetus landed in my in-box this morning. Seemed rather timely, given my recent trial with the unwanted biopsy.

One of the paradoxes of life is the great learning and depths we achieve as a result of walking through fire, and yet we rarely welcome these trials at their outset. How can I hold this prize in front of me, when I face that next difficulty?

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in Change Management, Health & Fitness, Life Coaching, Philosophy, psychology, Spiritual, Transitions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why do I despair and then thank the potholes in my life?

  1. Rhonda says:

    Two thoughts — that which does not kill us, strengthens us, and God only gives us what we can handle. Each trial causes us to utilize our full resources. And to discover our inner strength. We are capable of so much!

Leave a Reply

