The “TP-ed” Phenomenon. Real Life is Stranger than Fiction.

DSCN3016Toilet paper has been in the news this week. It seems that there is a serious shortage in Venezuela — just one more hardship and indignity heaped upon the average Venezuelan. When I heard about it on the radio, I reflected on various encounters in my youth with cut-up newspaper substituting for the store-bought-purpose-specific-rolls of soft white paper we take for granted today.

I probably wouldn’t have thought about it again, if the picture above hadn’t greeted me this morning as I went outside to pick up the newspaper. My poor neighbor was “rolled”, “TP’ed”, “house wrapped”, “yard rolled“,  over night. This is a pretty common prank amongst younger teenagers in our world of abundance. Yes, your eyes do not deceive you. That is indeed many rolls of toilet paper thrown up into the trees. If you have never seen or heard of this before, you couldn’t have dreamed up such a concept, right? I understand that it’s sometimes a badge of honor to be targeted for such action … huh? Again, very strange for a didn’t-grow-up-here person like me!

These parents will probably be more tolerant than I was, when it happened to us one time — just ask the poor kids who did it! But I’m sure the Venezuelans will be even more upset, if they find out about it!

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in Family, Humor, Life Stories, Parenting, Teens and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The “TP-ed” Phenomenon. Real Life is Stranger than Fiction.

  1. Hilarious post. I remember when our house got toilet papered. I think I was more upset than my parents. They found it to be funny. Great post 🙂

  2. Austin says:

    Maybe you should offer the Venezuelans a chance to come clean up your neighborhood and tell them they can keep whatever they get form the trees. Better yet, send that photo to Venezuela and tell them of a magical land where toilet paper grows on trees… 🙂

Leave a Reply

