“From this hour I ordain myself loos’d of limits and imaginary lines.”

Open Road

Image credit: Gayle Nicholson | CC BY-SA 2.0

“From this hour I ordain myself loos’d of limits and imaginary lines.”

I hear through the family grapevine, that my niece sent this quote to her dad on the day of his retirement. Apparently, his parting gesture, as he walked out the door, was to write this on the whiteboard in his emptied-out office.

What an inspired quote to send your dad as he exits a ~35-year career! What an inspired move to leave on your whiteboard for those left behind to ponder!

I wonder who moved into that office? Was the quote erased by the night cleaning staff with limited English, or was it still there for the new occupant? Did they puzzle over the meaning of it? Did they stop and wonder about the ‘imaginary lines‘? Those limits and lines feel very tangible before that special “hour”. I wonder. We’ll never know.

p.s., if you want to read the full poem, it’s “Song of the Open Road” from Leaves of Grass. 1900. by Walt Whitman.

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in Aging, Careers, Change Management, Life Coaching, Life Stories, Retirement, Transitions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “From this hour I ordain myself loos’d of limits and imaginary lines.”

  1. Rhonda says:

    Quite the poem!

Leave a Reply

