The Forgiveness Imperative!

ForgiveWhy must we forgive? Does it really matter? How will things change, if we do? What if you won’t ever see that person again? What if the offense is unforgivable?

What if it’s not a person, but a ‘thing’, like an organization, a nation, or some other nebulous entity?

“He who cannot forgive breaks the bridge over which he himself must pass.” George Herbert

I came across this quote in the book What’s So Amazing About Grace, by Phillip Yancey, this week. Over the past few days I find myself revisiting it over and over again. When I listen to the Boston bombing discussions on the radio. When I hear of the mother whose daughter forgot to tell her that her ex-husband had died. When I think about the 3 women released from years of unexplained captivity in Cleveland.

It seems like it’s truly the only way forward. Easier said than done, but the only way.

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in Grief, Health & Fitness, Life Coaching, Personal Effectiveness, psychology, Spiritual, Transitions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Forgiveness Imperative!

  1. Rhonda says:

    You will know what I am talking about when I say that I plan to forgive them their trespasses in order that my own trespasses will also be forgiven. I am doing this pre-emptively rather than demanding any apologies, especially for the email. Our minds must have been in sync on this idea, so thank you for this post! Will let you know how it goes.

    • lynnmorstead says:

      Rhonda, will say a special prayer for grace all round. you are such a gift in your family!!

      • Rhonda says:

        Just so you will time your prayers, the session is on Saturday at 11AM. Rhonda Martin sent me YouTube videos of Marshall Rosenberg’s The Basics of Non-Violent Communication and I am working on my giraffe behavior!! Giraffe’s have the largest hearts of all animals, and I will practice communicating from the heart. No teaching. Observations, not judgment. Giving without expectation. No diagnosis. Say the need, make the request, speak of feelings.

  2. kiramac says:

    Amen – I agree because I feel that we are all ONE – all judgment and all forgiveness come full circle. The Kingdom of God is within us ALL – not just a few.

Leave a Reply

