CCITM-CM … much needed addition to texter repertoire

CCITM-text message-abbrev-1I have a new texting shorthand I want to put out there: CCITM-CM. What does it mean? Cannot Compress Into Text Message – Call Me.

As popularly phrased by Maslow and Kaplan in the 1960s “if all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail“. I experience this on a daily basis with various folks – not just the under 30s, either. The hammer is the smart phone and the nail is a text message.

I’m all about texting, don’t get me wrong. The convenience. The efficiency. The ease. The asynchronous benefits. It’s a great addition to our multi-channeled communications toolkit. BUT, I refuse to let it take the place of a good story, or an in-depth conversation requiring broader context, or anything involving emotions. I’m not writing an essay in a text message. No need. I have better suited tools for that. Call Me.

We already have CM (Call Me), PCM (Please Call Me), and WYCM (Will You Call Me?), so how about CCITM-CM (Cannot Compress Into Text Message – Call Me). Help me out here, give it a try. Start today!

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in Culture, Humor, Life Coaching, Personal Effectiveness, Society, Technology, Teens. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to CCITM-CM … much needed addition to texter repertoire

  1. Mary Lynn Khater says:

    Love it!

  2. Mike says:

    It’s got to be shorter…how about NFT-CM (“not for texting – call me”) or TM2T (“too much to text”).

Leave a Reply

