Face Time Scare Show

As a survivor of teenage acne I’m pretty comfortable with all my facial flaws. Illusions of perfect porcelain skin were never within my reach, so I had to get on with life in spite of some very obvious imperfections. The onslaught of wrinkles and grey hair, with advancing years seem far less insulting and humiliating than inopportune timing and appearance of pimples in my teens. I have been pretty unsympathetic to the cries of aging TV anchors who resist the new HD TV technology. Get over yourselves, really, we’re not interested in your looks, but rather your brains.

Facetime

Face Time has defeated me. This tower of strength and confidence crumbles every time I accept a call on Face Time. And these calls are penetrating my life more and more. This is one technology that needs to take it down a notch. Make the picture a bit fuzzier or better yet, allow for real-time photo-shopping. The rest of you might have become comfortable with all my flaws, but I’ve got lots of catching up to do! It’s not a pretty sight! I applaud your ability to look beyond what you see, and love the beautiful me inside. Wow … you guys are amazing. How do you do it? I try to get myself put together in the mirror in the morning, but clearly this wears off very quickly as the day progresses.

Will I get used to Face Time? What I mean is, will I get used to looking at myself having a conversation via Face Time? Not sure yet. My guess is that all “calls” will eventually be replaced with something akin to Face Time. I’m thinking I’d better start getting used to it today. The longer I wait, the greater the shock factor. This face has definitely seen it’s best days!

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in Aging, Culture, Humor, Society, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Face Time Scare Show

  1. Rhonda says:

    “Time is a friend to the ugly and an enemy of beauty.”

  2. You look beautiful to me! And I understand — just keep looking at that small screen and pretending that’s all the other person sees. That’s working for me!

  3. Karen says:

    I scare myself looking down into a car window in the bright sunlight. “Who is that old lady?” I ask myself.

    So my advice: try to look straight into screens; avoid the looking down angle.

Leave a Reply

