Sometimes you Win, Sometimes you Learn

Back from vacation. Back in the saddle. Ready to roar into the week on Monday morning. First task at hand is to handle a March scheduled financial transaction. This was a biggie – one of those you don’t want to screw up. It’s been in the plan for a while. Made the call and our hearts stopped when we learned that we had misunderstood the timing requirements. We blew it. No back door. No appeal process. Nada.

I spent all morning ping ponging between different blame and self-flagellation scenarios. All useless and non-productive. The sick feeling was getting darker, growing more arms and legs. A third way was needed.

Sometimes you win - sometimes you learnThat’s when I stumbled across today’s posting on The Optimism Revolution. “Sometimes you Win, Sometimes you Learn”. That was IT! That was the third way I was looking for.

I foolishly thought I had arrived at some smarter level in my multi-decade adulthood. The level, where I no longer needed to relearn the lessons that I’m trying to drill into my late teens to help them avoid these very same pot holes in life. “Check, and then double check”. “Read the fine print – again and again”. “Go to the primary source – the decision maker”. “Trust, but confirm”.

I thought the learning I was still going to be doing at this stage of life was just the fun stuff I assigned to myself. Wrong. Apparently we’re not only never too old to learn, but also not too old to re-learn as well!

~~~~

There are no failures – just experiences and your reactions to them.
~ Tom Krause.

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in education, Grief, Life Coaching, Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sometimes you Win, Sometimes you Learn

  1. Rhonda says:

    Looking forward to hearing more about this at lunch next week!

  2. kathrynbturner says:

    Great post!! I do that some thing of going over things again and again and beating myself up each time. Pray you had a great trip to San Diego!

    Pressing On,

    Becky Turner 713-824-5649 863-438-1397 http://www.BeckyTurner.com

    >>>All those days that came and went … 3/18/13 4:11 PM:

    WordPress.com lynnmorstead posted: “Back from vacation. Back in the saddle. Ready to roar into the week on Monday morning. First task at hand is to handle a March scheduled financial transaction. This was a biggie – one of those you don’t want to screw up. It’s been in the plan for a while.”

  3. Karen says:

    Wow! We were on same track with doing financial things today. Hopefully we will not have hard lessons connected.

    I have found solace many times in learning something and moving on.

Leave a Reply

