Healthy Zeal is on the Rise

I can feel the zealot in me gaining strength and momentum. Energy levels are rising. Some of my old friends and family may want to run for cover.

The topic? Healthy eating.

The cause? Reading “The Blue Zones: Lessons for Living Longer from the People Who’ve Lived the Longest

The upside? The usual food temptations seem to evaporate. I am released. Yes! to veg, tofu, nuts, grains, pure water, and hara hachi bu practiced by the Okinawan centenarians (a Confucian teaching that instructs people to eat until they are 80 percent full). I feel light, optimistic and invigorated. No! to my personal potholes of chips, chocolate, late night snacking, alcohol and the every-now-and-then-uncontrollable-just-one-more-cookie-syndrome!

The downside? It has been known to …. make others uncomfortable eating with me; ruin the pleasure of conspiratorial indulgence; put pressure on those around me to scale back. Sorry! It’s not intentional (… well, most of the time anyway), but do consider reading this book and then see if you don’t want to make some changes yourself.

This reminds me of an old cartoon I had doctored up years ago to introduce myself to a new group of colleagues. It’s a bit fuzzy, so I’ll translate. 1st frame: Under “Religion” you put “Vegetarian”. That’s right. 2nd frame: That’s not a religion. 3rd frame: You don’t know us very well.Vegetarian cartoon-v3

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in Health & Fitness, Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Healthy Zeal is on the Rise

  1. Love Kip’s response! I just finished reading the book and my head is spinning with thoughts! Perhaps a cup of tea and a Face Time chat would be just the thing to do! Let me know if/when you are free this week!

  2. Mary Lynn Khater says:

    Just ordered the book!

Leave a Reply

