All those days that came and went, little did I know …

I’ve been asked where this blog title comes from.

All those days that came and went, little did I know that they were my life.
Old Scandinavian saying

norwegian plateI first heard this from my mother-in-law, who I believe has, or had, an old plate with this saying on it. Variations of this saying show up all over the internet, but I can’t seem to track down a reliable original source to credit. First time Google has failed me in a long time.

From her vantage point, in her 80s, this resonates louder with each passing decade. First time she shared this with me, it stopped me in my tracks … briefly … but then I quickly moved on to the next task. I now pause longer and reflect on it. I’m watching those days more mindfully in 2013. This blog is about sharing some of those observations.

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in Blogging, Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to All those days that came and went, little did I know …

  1. YES! One way I’ve heard it is — “The way you spend your days is the way you spend your life.” This one stopped me in my tracks!

  2. cgparkin says:

    Absolutely! If we don’t stop to reflect, time quickly gets away from us. Such a simple idea, but one often overlooked (by most people?)

  3. Elisa says:

    We brought that plate home from Stavanger. A woman I knew there, Hildegard Haheim, painteand sold plates, plaques, and bowls with traditional Norwegian sayings on them, She also did one we have hanging by our back door, “Ut pa tur, aldri sur” which means something like “out for a walk, never sour” (or grumpy, I guess). The style of folk painting is called rosemaling.

  4. Martin says:

    It is not an old saying, actually, but lines from a poem by the SDwedish poet and writer Stig Johansson, in his poetry collection “Den kapsejsade himlen”.

  5. Peter says:

    Swedish author Stig Johansson, the poem “Förlusten”. In the original language: “Alla dessa dagar som kom och gick, inte visste jag att de var livet”

  6. Elisabeth says:

    The text on the plate in the picture is an old grace said before eating: In Jesu name we sit at the table, eat and drink on Your word (?), In Your name, to our benefit, we get food in Jesu name.

Leave a Reply

