Converting Voids to Fullness

When I looked at my iPhone calendar in the early dark morning, it was strangely blank all day. No appointments, meetings, lunch dates. Zippo. Nada. Empty. Something’s wrong here. This void almost looks scary.

Here’s the sequence of thoughts:  1-I bet my iPhone isn’t synchronizing with Google calendars properly. Investigation proves that’s not the case.  2-There’s probably something on the paper calendar in the kitchen. Also not the case. 3-Oh yes, I know! My weekly date with J is now reclaimed space on the calendar landscape, since she left town for a month. 4-Better fill it up again.

Wait. I hear a shout “Not so hasty”!

Maybe this is a gift of time for all those special things that you put off onto that “when-I-have-time” list or the “in-a-quiet-moment-when-the-time-is-right” list. I’m telling myself: Resist the temptation to fill in the agenda appointment slots with another lunch date. Resist the temptation to dash out the door on an errand marathon. This space is empty for a higher purpose. Write the letter I’ve been meaning to – the old-fashioned way. Make the phone call, I’ve been needing a quiet moment for. Do the special things that demand quiet, space, and elastic time.

Resist all the easy, fluffy, noisiness, and busy-ness of email management, chatty lunches, fluffy media consumption, bills and paperwork. Soak up the stillness. Come to rest. Seize the moment. Transform the void into a richer fullness. The busy stuff can wait.

 ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦

“There are seasons when to be still demands immeasurably higher strength than to act.”
― Margaret Bottome

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in Life Coaching. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Converting Voids to Fullness

  1. Elisa says:

    Too right.

Leave a Reply

