When Opinions Defy Expected Patterns

When complex issues enter the public debate we expect a certain predictability in reactions. We open the paper, turn on the radio or click on the internet knowing which side of the issue the particular media will likely support. Even if they do a good job of giving individuals equal air time, you can always count on specific columnists, analysts and advisers to display a certain consistency of position on the political spectrum.

There’s a new hot issue in the media right now that seems to be scrambling that consistency: Women in combat. A conservative reporter, I expected to disapprove, argues very convincingly FOR it. A liberal columnist, I expected to support it, makes an emotional appeal AGAINST it. There’s something different about this issue. It demands more from us.

What do I think about this? Where do I stand? How would I vote? When the media professionals you correlate with certain philosophies surprise you, it’s time to investigate your own position deeper.

Equal opportunity for all. It’s a given. That’s what we’re striving for.  But what about women captured by the enemy – what would happen to them? How would our nation respond? Would we all be damaged in some way knowing that we had opened the door to potentially unspeakable acts. I have doubts. This is not clear cut. I’m not sure.

If I had to vote today, I would vote for the status quo. Do no harm. Don’t change the rules of the game. More investigation is required.

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When Opinions Defy Expected Patterns

  1. Rhonda says:

    My father who was a career military person would not be in favor of women in combat roles. I’m not sure he was even in favor of women in the military. He felt women had a higher calling than fighting for their country, namely by keeping the country and families together. I can see his point. Kathleen Parker had this view today — I was surprised to read her view, but made me think of my Daddy. http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/parker-military-is-putting-women-at-unique-risk/2013/01/25/33d9eca6-6723-11e2-9e1b-07db1d2ccd5b_story.html

Leave a Reply

