One man’s friendly hello

This morning there was a nice surprise in my Facebook alerts from a former colleague, Alan. He was on business travel in Asia and ran into someone I had worked closely with in Europe many years ago. I’ll call him ‘RZ’, a Malaysian ex-pat working in Belgium.

RZ is the main character in one of my favorite cross-cultural stories. Certain taboo topics to an American are fair game in other cultures. This one dropped in my lap like a text book case study in cross-cultural awareness.

Here’s the setup: I’m an American working on a multi-national project based in Belgium. RZ is a Malaysian working on the same project. We both know and have worked with a senior visiting manager from the US (I’ll call her LL), who RZ has not seen since she left Malaysia several years earlier.

Here’s what happened: I call RZ to come visit LL at my desk. When he arrives, he greets her enthusiastically. The first words that come out of his mouth are “wow, you’ve gained a lot of weight since you left Malaysia”. I’m so gob-smacked that I blurt out something about that being a pretty shocking hello, how are you! She laughs and says she fully expected it. That’s normal in Malaysia. I’m rendered speechless.

When I moved to Southeast Asia myself a couple of years later, I learned that not only can you expect direct comments and questions about your weight, but your age, your salary and anything to do with money were also fair game.  It’s a two-way street. We can easily offend each other without knowing it.

One man’s friendly hello can be another’s potential insult. This story still makes me laugh. I wonder if RZ remembers it too?

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One man’s friendly hello

  1. You completed a few good points there. I did a search on the topic and found nearly all people will consent with your blog.

Leave a Reply

