Jan 10: The Accidental Unplugged Walker

Have you seen any unplugged walkers lately? I mean the kind that walk without wires dangling out of their ears, or without small electronic pads held up with one arm to their ear. These are very rare sightings.

I accidentally became one of those rare sightings this afternoon as I rushed off on foot to meet some neighbors at a local restaurant. Key, money, chapstick and I was off down the road, before I realized something was missing. It was almost like that feeling of the dream where you show up at school naked. You know the one.

I was indeed naked … for me. I was not plugged into a podcast, the radio, or a phone conversation. It was just me, the sidewalk, the sky, the  sun, my thoughts. No time to run back, I’ll just have to grin and bear it. I’ll be there in 10 minutes. How bad could this be?

I ran into a neighbor going out to his car. We exchanged new year greetings and caught up on family news. I heard acorns drop on the pavement, birds chirping, leaves rustling in the breeze. I passed a mom chattering with her kids in the front yard. I exchanged hellos with school kids walking home. I heard the wheels of a bicycle softly whoosh past me, the clunk of a skateboard as it hopped over the curb and landed on the asphalt. More kids shouting in a distant backyard.

Very cool! This had a first-time preciousness about it. I will intentionally leave my wiring home next time.

About lynnmorstead

Writing about the small things that shape our lives
This entry was posted in Life Coaching, Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jan 10: The Accidental Unplugged Walker

  1. Rhonda says:

    I get worried when I see distracted walkers! I’m glad you were “unplugged” even just for a short time!

Leave a Reply

